Hillary, Hip-Hop, and Imus

I really was over the Imus thing yet today’s perusal of the Washington Post had me to revisit the insanity. It appears that Sen. Clinton who called Imus’ remarks “small-minded bigotry and coarse sexism” has just received $800,000 from a fundraiser hosted by hip-hop artist Timbaland. Her husband accompanied her to the fundraiser in Florida and entry was $1,000 for guests. So, what is my problem – I know that Barack is pulling in more money than she hoped, but sinking to such a low to have a fundraiser hosted by an artist that regularly uses the language that was deemed impermissible by Imus?????? Why????? At the end of the day, the only real color that matters is GREEN and this is yet another example of pot and kettle (ism).

One thought on “Hillary, Hip-Hop, and Imus”

  1. Agreed. Imus’ comments may have been inappropriate, but at the end of the day, he is not the only one who uses the words… and he did not use them in a demeaning and negative way. He was ‘trying’ to be funny and it didn’t work… urban culture uses these words all of the time whether its comedians or rappers.. I think it is just as appalling to see everyone get so offended. I know that as an african american myself, I am not that sensitive to the words of others, no matter the color of their skin.
    I am sure this whole Imus thing will make its way into shows like South Park or Boondocks and be blown off as a joke!

Comments are closed.