Sunday Afternoon Thoughts – NASCAR Update

Today is Palm Sunday and the beginning of Holy Week for Christians. I have been in a reflective mode all day and many thoughts have crossed my mind, here are a few:

1) Palm Sunday early service – Today our church held an early service and while not an early morning person, I did get myself and the kids out of the house to attend which means that we were not going to be able to attend Sunday School as it is held after our usual 10 a.m. service. We did do our own Sunday School on Palm Sunday and used our Resurrection Eggs and they had real palms from church. Because of his role at church, dh has to attend both services. It was actually quite nice worshipping with my children as they normally attend Children’s Church. After leaving church (9:30 a.m.) we did come home and change our clothes as I needed to go pick up a book from Barnes & Noble that Stef Tam is reading. I have read that Sunday is no longer really a day for worship for many especially for those with athletic children and that was verified as I drove to Barnes and Nobles and passed the local sport fields. Yes, some could have attend their early morning service but for some reason I doubt it. At church, we watched a short video kind of like an evangelical version of Jay Leno’s Jaywalking and the people on the street were asked about Easter and whether or not they celebrate it and if they know why it is celebrated. Interesting responses that showed a lack of personal understanding of Easter (many celebrated because that is how they grew up) or just a lack of belief in God.

2) Homeschool and socialization – while at Barnes and Noble, there was another darling child there and his mother. My kids had saw him at our local park earlier in the week and remembered him and the 3 children began to play with the Thomas train set and interact as children do and then mom and I got into a conversation as my dd informed her that she would be 5 and would begin Kindergarten soon. Of course, the mom asked me where will she go to school and I informed her that she is homeschooled. Mom responds – “Oh that is good and I am sure it requires a lot of work. What do you do for socialization?” Why is that normally the 1st or 2nd question that is the standard follow-up to any parent that homeschools?????? Where is it written that socialization must occur within a government run school??? There are many definitions for socialization and according to dictionary.com, one is the process of learning interpersonal and interactional skills that are in conformity with the values of one’s society. As parents, we are in control of the type of values that we want our children to conform to…I do not want my children conforming to the dominant behavior in his/her classroom which is typically what happens…how is a group of children all of the same age and immaturity level the *best* process for learning interpersonal and interactional skills????

3) NASCAR – can my favorite racer, Jeff Gordon, finally win today at Martinsville? How much longer is the stalemate going to exist between DEI and Dale Jr.?

That is about it for me for now.

UPDATE – I am finished screaming at the TV now and I can update that Jeff Gordon *did not* win at Martinsville. I like Jimmie too but I wouldn’t have been upset if Jeff had moved him a little sooner. The clean finish was good because I really do not like a wreck at the end but oh I wanted that win. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

One thought on “Sunday Afternoon Thoughts – NASCAR Update”

  1. I have two kids who play developmental/competitive soccer, so I know exactly what you mean!

    BUT, when we moved to where we are now (in the mid-south) I was ASTOUNDED to find out that many of the coaches and managers from our team don’t believe in Sunday morning games! That gets them in hot water with some of the other teams in the leage, yet they don’t seem to care. Sure has taken a lot of stress off of us!

Comments are closed.