When someone you love is hurt

It is hard to watch someone that you love deal with a difficult time in their life.  Instinctually you want to right the wrong but more often than not, there is nothing that can be done for you to make the person not feel the pain.  Yes, you can listen and provide a sympathetic ear but you can’t fix *it* whatever it is for that person.

I have been trying to remind myself that God has thoughts and plans that are much higher than mine (Isaiah 55:8) and that God has plans to prosper and not harm and in the end that my loved one and I can have peace that surpasses all understanding regarding a current situation.

I feel like I would rather pray for answers to all of my questions but I realize that some things are probably best not knowing because knowing can cause even more aggravation, resentment and a host of other emotions.

There are some questions that my loved one and I will have to seek answers and those questions will more than likely lead us to making some decisions that will be somewhat uncomfortable for our family just because we are creatures of patterns and comfort.

Life goes on and we either go with it or it leaves us…

One thought on “When someone you love is hurt”

  1. Disappointments, delays, silence, misunderstandings, discouragements are all there to through us off course. But we know what Romans 8:28 says and so we know that a delay is not a denial, its just Gods way of preparing us for something. A “no” is a “no” from God so its a perfect answer. I know just yesterday I was trying to box with God about why he was allowing certain things to happen and I wanted to understand and know the reason but like you said we aren’t going to know everything and there are things we don’t want to know. But as Pastor Bob said when you are in your cave put one foot in front of the other and keep going forward and focus on something else. I know what its like to have a person say or do something to you that you think is ridiculous but as I deal with that today, I just have to remember to love, love, love and forgive, forgive, forgive. Oooohhhh, it’s so hard sometimes, so hard!! Who doesn’t love to be comfortable?

Comments are closed.