Out of the mouth of my babes…

This morning during our morning devotional, we were discussing life and the fact that there will be some good times and some not so good times but no matter what times you find yourself in, that you must continue to praise God.  Our scripture reference was Romans 8:37 – Yet in all things we are more than conquerors through Him who loved us.

I shared with them that we had some rough times when our daughter had to wait for her liver transplant and when our youngest son died shortly after birth due to Thanatophoric Dysplasia.  My children know their brother, Malachi, died shortly after birth because they remember Mommy being pregnant and they remember coming to the hospital.  However, it is not something that we constantly discuss unless they have questions. 

My son then asks me why his brother died?  Being that he is 3, I let him know that God needed him in heaven and that God knows best.

As a mom, I am constantly reminded of Malachi but I also realize that I must continue to live a life pleasing to God.  I do not have all of the answers, nor do I want all of them, but it warmed my heart today to know that Malachi’s brother and sister remember him. 

4 thoughts on “Out of the mouth of my babes…”

  1. After reading your short – I looked up Thanatophoric Dysplasia. From what I read I kinda assume you may have known about the condition prior to the birth? Praise GOD for how he is/has sustained you and your family. Bless the little cherub’s hearts for remembering Malachi.
    Love you,
    OceanGirl

  2. Thanks for being an example of encouragement. My young family is going through right now and during weak moments I take my focus off of GOD and want to scream. Thank you for being my corrective lenses for today.

  3. J,

    We did know before hand after a level 2 ultrasound which was standard practice after Alexandra and her liver disease. Looking back sometimes knowing made it harder because people can obviously see that you are pregnant yet you know that the sweet child you are carrying is not expected to live beyond a few hours after birth. Yet that is not information that you will share with most others that are approaching you and asking about your pregnancy.

    It is amazing how God works because Pastor Bob was there from the beginning so I had my hubby, dad and Pastor in attendance before I went into to surgery and then after Malachi was born and the doctors did their thing, which they already inform you will be limited due to the diagnosis, my 3 “men” (hospital joke) took Malachi and did a baby dedication while I was being put back together. I was wheeled into recovery and was able to hold him and he died in my arms. So, I did get to see, touch, feel, smell and just love the sweet little manchild that was only mine for a brief time.

    I share all of that to say, be encouraged as your family continues to gel and know God knows what is best and will bring all of you through just keep holding on and communicating in love with one another. Also, scream if you have to just not at those in your home, I find that in the car by yourself does wonders. 🙂

  4. There is a song by Daryl Coley that talks about God hearing your silent screams. I’m glad about that because I’ve had plenty of those but going in the car and letting it loose, now that sounds like a good idea!!!

Comments are closed.