The children that libraries build

farmsteadlady:

Good read about how our across the pond friends are following in our footsteps and cutting library services.

This constantly bewilders me…..my county has 2 libraries that have Sunday hours. Pity the child with limited/no internet connection at home that remembers on Sunday afternoon that he has an assignment due on Monday. I can recall as a child in NJ, many a Sundays spent at the library (of course that was pre-internet days). But still, libraries serve many functions in our communities and should be treasured instead of being dismembered by a swipe of the budget ax.

Do you and your family use your local library?

Originally posted on Lost in Ephemera:

While idly browsing through my Twitter feed this evening, I came across this:

It got me thinking about the value of public libraries for young readers and the disastrous consequences closures/service reductions could bring. It also got me reflecting on why I chose to work in libraries in the first place.  It may be quite a personal story but, given the circumstances, I think it really highlights the importance of public libraries, including the chance for escape and the opportunities they offer young people.

My family never had that much spare money when I was growing up, despite both my mother and stepfather working. Both worked in a takeaway and, because all other immediate family members were also working there and cheap/free childcare was (as it…

View original 599 more words

One thought on “The children that libraries build”

  1. Thank you for forwarding this information. Oh, it makes me remember my days as a child in a chaotic home, where books became my constant friend. One of the greatest gifts my mother gave me was teaching me to read and to use the library.

Comments are closed.